What is meliponiculture ?

The stingless are stingless bees that live mainly in hot countries, they make their hives in tree trunks and even underground. Protective action hives sometimes through the use of chainsaw…

In Europe and on the North American continent, the main problem of pollinators is the discharge of chemicals into the environment. Gaucho, Cruiser, Poncho… These products are especially guilty of the gradual disappearance of the honeybee (apis mellifera). "Here, In the Amazon, we do not have problems with pesticides. Especially in the region of Loreto, who lives apart from the rest of the world, because there is no route. No way to easily carry pesticides… », explain José Carlos Garcia Morales, member of La Restinga association, In Iquitos, heart of the Peruvian Amazon.

Carlos Garcia Morales, de La Restinga

Carlos Garcia Morales

Agronomist, José Carlos Garcia Morales work since two years for the preservation of native bees : The melipona, a stingless bee species are living in tropical countries (South America, South, Africa, Asia, Australia). It is a "social" bee , from the Apidae family (melipona ), who lives in colonies such as the European bee (apis mellifera).

The main problem here, In the Amazon, comes from a wild and destructive way to harvest honey. But deforestation, "That destroys the habitat of bees". In Peru, the action of La Restinga arises in terms of education of the local population, so that they can learn to exploit the forest, main natural resource, without prejudice to swarms. This requires awareness operations and the use of chainsaw !

To isolate the swarms, it is necessary to cut the truncated sides of the hive. You can then carry this section containing the colony, in specific conditions, to the site of the future hive. After a few days, once bees accustomed to their new environment, the trunk can be opened "gently" with a chainsaw and stakes. "Get the swarm must be carefully, so as not to break the structure or stress bees. Younger specimens can not fly yet , they must be moved manually to the new shelter ". No need of protection, as they do not bite. The meliponiculture is also an educational activity for all.

The main rules of meliponiculture

  • When you close the box of the new hive, we let only a small hole which is the enter and exit for the bees.
  • As an aperture of the hive, it is imperative to put the same input tunnel that was on the tree trunk.
    Important fact, cardinal orientation of the input must be the same to ensure the return of bees.
  • The new hive must be sealed with clay, so that other insects do not fit : ants, cockroaches, butterflies, termites, mosquitoes.
  • The hive is placed vertically on a wooden holder and then we coat the feet of this tray with a natural repellent.
  • Do not forget to regularly check the inside of the hive. we shall remove by hand any intruders and their eggs.

Later, we can divide the swarm, to achieve two hives. Only can be divided hives that produce larvae, visible white area in the brood, and have many workers. Thus, By this technique of breeding colonies, it is no longer necessary to cut down trees to harvest honey. Harvesting of bee products is done directly in the "honey pots" and "pollen pots", using a syringe to aspirate the content. This is a very technical, sensitive and caring, careful not to deplete the colony.

An ancient practice

Maya pottery of the God of honey (Mexico)

The meliponiculture was developed in Central America and South America before the arrival of European settlers. At that time, Indians got honey and wax stingless bees. Later, "Normal" “bees” were brought from Europe and, in the twentieth century, from Africa. Mayas, for example, were great meliponicultors. The activity has traditionally been performed almost throughout tropical America ", says Juan Manuel Rosso-Londoño, PhD Colombian, in the magazine Sciences au Sud (Number 67, nov.-dec. 2012).

Pre-Columbian civilizations such as the Mayas were already practicing "meliponiculture". places with dozens of traditional hives are described by the first Spanish conquistadors in the sixteenth century. From 1549, bishop Diego de Landa, reports that meliponiculture is a major agricultural activities of the Mayas. Bee, symbol of sunlight to these civilizations, is often depicted in many paintings of Central America.

For thirty years, through studies carried out in Brazil and Mexico, governments, scientists and NGOs interest has greatly increased for this activity. The meliponiculture is useful in more ways than one :

  1. This is an ancient tradition of indigenous peoples.
  2. This honey has great medicinal value.
  3. The stingless bees are the main pollinators of the Amazonian jungle.
  4. They are part of biodiversity (the stingless bees have more than 600 species when Apis are only represented by 7 species).
  5. These bees are local species, perfectly adapted to the environment.
  6. This activity helps to support the family economy.

Small amounts but excellent qualities !

Association La RestingaThe annual harvest of honey produced by one stingless bee colony varies between 200 grams and 5 kilos. It depends on the species of bees, and on the vegetation around. On average, 3 kilos per hive is what we can get. This is very little compared to the production of honey bees : on average 20 kilos. However, the stingless bees produce incomparable quality honey , strong flavor, slightly acidic. Royal jelly is even incorporated into honey. It’s super food ! "The high rate of humidity is a source of frequent chemical conversions that generate a significant production of hydrogen peroxide and gluconic acid, two powerful antiseptic ". Its antibiotic activity is higher in order to avoid fermentation. In laboratory tests, Melipona honey therefore has a stronger inhibitory factor bacteria than normal honey bees. The website beeking.com recalls that in Nicaragua, honey mixed with milk powder is used as a beauty mask. The "jicote" honey is preferred to any other to sweeten teas and thereby increase their healing power. In Cuba, it is applied on burns and wounds to accelerate cicatrization. In Brazil, we put few honey drops in the eyes to cure conjunctivitis.

Some hives from stingless bees :

To go further :

Qu’est-ce que la méliponiculture ?

Les mélipones sont des abeilles sans dard qui vivent essentiellement dans les pays chauds, elles font leurs ruches dans les troncs d’arbre et même sous terre. Une action de protection des ruches passe parfois par l’usage de la tronçonneuse…

En Europe et sur le continent nord-américain, le principal problème des insectes pollinisateurs réside dans le déversement des produits chimiques dans l’environnement. Gaucho, Cruiser, Poncho… Ces produits seraient notamment coupables de la disparition progressive de l’abeille domestique (apis mellifera). « Ici, en Amazonie, nous n’avons pas encore de problèmes avec les pesticides. Surtout dans la région de Loreto, qui vit à part du reste du monde, car il n’y a pas de route. Pas moyen d’acheminer facilement des pesticides… », explique José Carlos Garcia Morales, membre de l’association La Restinga, à Iquitos, cœur de l’Amazonie Péruvienne.

Carlos Garcia Morales, de La Restinga

Carlos Garcia Morales

Ingénieur agronome, José Carlos Garcia Morales œuvre depuis deux ans pour la préservation des abeilles natives : les mélipones, espèce d’abeilles sans dard vivant dans les pays tropicaux (Amériques, du Sud, Afrique, Asie, Australie). C’est une abeille dite « sociale », de la famille des Apidés (genre melipona), qui vit en colonie comme l’abeille européenne (apis mellifera).

Le principal problème ici, en Amazonie, vient d’une récolte sauvage et destructrice du miel. Mais aussi de la déforestation, « qui détruit l’habitat des abeilles». Au Pérou, l’action de La Restinga se pose en terme d’éducation des populations locales, afin qu’elles apprennent à exploiter la forêt, principale ressource naturelle, sans porter atteinte aux essaims. Cela passe par des opérations de sensibilisation et l’usage de la tronçonneuse !

Pour isoler les essaims de mélipones, il faut découper le tronc de part et d’autre du nid. On peut ensuite transporter ce tronçon contenant la colonie, dans des conditions bien précises, vers le site de la future ruche. Au bout de quelques jours, une fois les abeilles habituées à leur nouvel environnement, le tronc peut être ouvert « délicatement » à l’aide d’une tronçonneuse et de piquets. « Récupérer l’essaim doit se faire avec précaution, afin de ne pas casser la structure ni stresser les abeilles. Les plus jeunes spécimens ne volent pas encore, ils faut les déplacer à la main vers le nouvel abri ». Pas besoin de protection, elles ne piquent pas. La méliponiculture est donc aussi une activité éducative pour tous.


Les règles principales de la méliponiculture

  • Quand on ferme la boîte de la nouvelle ruche, on ne laisse qu’un petit trou d’où peuvent entrer et sortir les abeilles.
  • En guise d’orifice de la ruche, il est impératif de replacer le même tunnel d’entrée qui était sur le tronc d’arbre.
    Fait important, l’orientation cardinale de l’entrée doit être la même pour garantir le retour des abeilles.
  • La nouvelle ruche doit être hermétiquement fermée à l’aide d’argile, afin que les autres insectes ne rentrent pas : fourmis, blattes, papillons, termites, moustiques.
  • On pose la ruche en bois sur un support en hauteur et on enduit ensuite les pieds de ce plateau avec un répulsif naturel anti-insectes.
  • Il ne faut pas oublier de contrôler régulièrement l’intérieur de la ruche. On enlève à la main les éventuels intrus et leurs œufs.

Un peu plus tard, on pourra diviser l’essaim, afin de réaliser deux ruches. Seules peuvent être divisées les ruches qui produisent des larves, visibles en blanc dans la zone du couvain, et qui possèdent beaucoup d’ouvrières. Ainsi, par cette technique d’élevage de colonies, il n’est plus nécessaire d’abattre des arbres pour la cueillette du miel. La récolte des produits de l’abeille se fait directement dans les « pots à miel » et « pots à pollen », à l’aide d’une seringue pour en aspirer le contenu. C’est toute une technique, délicate et bienveillante, soucieuse de ne pas épuiser les réserves de la colonie.


Une pratique ancestrale

Poterie Maya représentant le Dieu du miel (Mexique)

La méliponiculture était développée en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud avant l’arrivée des colons européens. À cette époque, les Indiens obtenaient du miel et de la cire des abeilles sans dard. Plus tard, les abeilles « normales » furent apportées de l’Europe et, au XXe siècle, de l’Afrique. « Les Mayas, par exemple, étaient de grands méliponiculteurs. L’activité a été traditionnellement exercée quasiment dans toute l’Amérique tropicale », précise Juan Manuel Rosso-Londoño, doctorant colombien, au magazine Sciences au Sud (Numéro 67, nov.-déc. 2012).

Les civilisations précolombiennes comme les Mayas pratiquaient déjà la « meliponiculture ». Des ruchers de plusieurs dizaines de ruches traditionnelles sont décrits par les premiers conquistadors espagnols au XVI ème siècle. Dès 1549, l’évêque Diego de Landa, rapporte que la meliponiculture est une des principales activités agricole des Mayas. L’abeille, symbole de la lumière solaire pour ces civilisations, est souvent représentée dans les nombreuses fresques d’Amérique centrale.

Depuis une trentaine d’années, grâce à des études réalisées au Brésil et au Mexique, l’intérêt des gouvernements, des scientifiques et des ONG s’est grandement accru en faveur de cette activité. La méliponiculture est utile à plus d’un titre :

  1. C’est une tradition ancestrale des populations indigènes.
  2. Ce miel a une grande valeur médicinale.
  3. Les mélipones sont les principaux pollinisateurs de la jungle amazonienne.
  4. Ils font partie de la biodiversité (les mélipones comptent plus de 600 espèces alors les Apis ne sont représentées que par 7 espèces).
  5. Ces abeilles sont des espèces locales, parfaitement adaptées au milieu ambiant.
  6. Cela aide à soutenir l’économie familiale.


Petites quantités mais d’excellentes qualités !

Association La RestingaLa récolte annuelle de miel produite par une colonie d’abeilles sans dard varie entre 200 grammes et 5 kilos. Cela dépend des espèces d’abeilles, de la végétation. On compte en moyenne 3 kilos par ruche. C’est très peu comparé à la production des abeilles domestiques : en moyenne 20 kilos. Cependant, les mélipones produisent un miel d’une qualité incomparable, à la saveur prononcée, légèrement acidulée. La gelée royale est même incorporée au miel. It’s super food ! « Son fort taux d’humidité est source de fréquentes conversions chimiques qui engendrent une importante production d’eau oxygénée et d’acide gluconique, deux antiseptiques puissants ». Son activité antibiotique est donc plus élevée afin d’éviter la fermentation. Dans les tests de laboratoire, le miel Melipona possède donc un facteur inhibiteur de bactéries plus puissant que le miel d’abeilles normales. Le site beeking.com rappelle qu’au Nicaragua, on l’utilise comme masque de beauté mélangé avec du lait en poudre. C’est également le miel de « jicote » qu’on préfère à tout autre pour sucrer les tisanes et augmenter ainsi leur pouvoir curatif. A Cuba, il est appliqué sur les brûlures ainsi que sur les plaies pour faciliter la cicatrisation. Au brésil, on en met quelques gouttes dans les yeux pour guérir les conjonctivites.


Quelques nids d’abeilles mélipones :


Pour aller plus loin :